Midterm Project – Art Deco Lantern

Using laser cut illustration board and decorative paper, I created a lantern with an art deco aesthetic for my midterm project in Digital Craft. I started this by looking at art deco lamps for inspiration, but then ended up looking at vases because I found them much more decorative. I started by looking at these two:

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/originals/3d/3b/5e/3d3b5e4907e8a704b149050976dc553d.png

I prototyped these as surfaces for a vase using bristol paper (and some decoration):

At first I liked the 3D leaf-like surface better, but realized that as this was a laser printing project a 2D patterned surface might work better, so I used the design of the second vase as my inspiration. Additionally, I was in fact originally intending to make an actual vase, but realized the materials suited to laser cutting would be difficult to use to construct a functioning vase. I then got the idea to make it a lantern because I thought the cut out shapes from the laser cut would make light come through interestingly if I used translucent materials.

The final product was made by laser cutting external shells using illustration board, with various patterned papers glued inside between them.

lantern4lantern5

Leave a Reply

